Falling over Niagara. Day 21

Falling over Niagara. Day 21

Niagara Falls is only a stones throw away from our comfy hotel room but before we see the amazing falls we have to get a camera connection for the iPad so we can actually take some crazy photos. So we drive into Buffalo, a quaint looking city with lovely steepled churches, narrow streets and friendly faces. It is also home to one of the largest department stores Jess and I have ever seen. The apple store is full, as these stores always seem to be, so Jess grabs what we need and back in the car we go.

It’s a seriously muggy day here in Niagara. Time to explore one of the worlds natural wonders. Niagara Falls, hoping to cool off we wander down the city streets to grab tickets on the world famous Maid of the Mist boat ride. I skipped breakfast for some insane reason so I’m hoping that this place caters. When I see the plastic blue ponchos I get my doubts.

image

image

The Maid of the Mist is the only boat that travels underneath these terrific falls. So, looking kind of like saggy smurfs we clamber aboard and are off towards the gigantic torrent of water raging before us. Over 180 feet high the falls are a spectacular sight from below. Water rushes and throws mist miles into the sky, oh and we get completely soaked.

image

image

image

image

The Maid of the Mist travels right in to the base of the horseshoe falls, the churning water froths and bubbles, Jess and I are drenched with spray as we try to take as many shots as possible. It was a great experience and something to definitely cross off the bucket list. The boat docks and we decide to get some more photos from the viewing deck up above.

image

image

For those of you who don’t want to get on the boat, Niagara Falls State Park has plenty of viewing points to check out the falls from above. Jess and I wander across the park to the Terrapin point viewing point which gives you a wonderful sight of the rapids, the tremendous amount of tumbling water and of course, gets you covered in mist from below. The walk is nice through the parklands, the sound of the water rushing by makes for a decent relaxing soundtrack so when you’re here take the time to explore.

imageimage

image

image

Now, I still haven’t eaten and I’ve spotted a hotdog stand on the side of the road. Shoving my way through the queue and screaming at the top of my lungs “me first!” Seems to get the job done and I am chowing down on a delicious grilled dog smothered in pickles, mayo and ketchup. Good god I love this country! Food is just everywhere, the enormous stomach I seem to be developing is a mere side affect. Europe is coming which should strip some weight. I hope.

After a long day in the sun Jess and I retire to the hotel room for a night of room service, tv and relaxing. We fly for Washington in the morning and being that we are in Niagara and that it has been 50 years since Dr Kings famous “I have a dream” speech I thought I would leave you with a line.

“We will not be satisfied until justice rolls down like waters and righteousness like a mighty stream.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

Til tomorrow.

Josh and Jess

Leave a Reply

